Teams That Dominated the 2000s
By Rebecca Rodriguez - September 26, 2022

Manchester United. Manchester United have won the premier league title 11 times, making them the most successful club in English football history. Their first title came in the 1908-09 season under manager Sir Matt Busby, who led the team to five championships before his death in 1955. His son Alex took over the reins and guided the club to its first European Cup victory in 1968. He was succeeded by his brother Bobby, who continued to build on the success of Alex’s teams. In 1992, he became the only person to lead two different clubs to the Premier League title. He retired at the end of the 1997-98 season. David Moyes took over in 2007 and led the club to its eighth championship in 2013. Louis van Gaal took over in 2014 and led the team to its 10th title.

Getty images/Arsenal FC/David Price/ Contributor

Liverpool Football Club is a professional association football club based in Liverpool, Merseyside, England. Founded in 1892, they play their home matches at Anfield, where they have played since 1923. They compete in the Premier League, the top flight of English football. The club has won 13 major honors, including eight First Division titles, four F.A. Cups, three League Cups, two UEFA Cups, and the 2005–06 UEFA Champions League. Jurgen Klopp’s managed side has not lost any home games since he took over in October 2015

Arsenal F.C. (also known as Arsenal) is a professional association football club based in London, England. Nicknamed The Gunners, the club competes in the Premier League, currently playing in the 2022–23 season. The club was founded in 1886, making it the second oldest football club in the world after Ruch Chorzow. The club has won six league titles, seven F.A. Cups, five League Cups, two Charity/Community Shields, and the 2003–04 UEFA Champions League. Arsenal has dominated the Premier League since Arsene Wenger took over at the club in 1996.